Arizona became a “Permitless Carry” state in 2010. Although carrying concealed without a permit is allowed, there are areas you cannot carry concealed without a permit. You also have no reciprocity to carry concealed in other states and, in the event you are involved in a shooting, your liability exposure is substantially more than if have a permit.Who may take the class?
Anyone may take the class including those who reside in other states and foreign nationals, but you must meet certain state requirements to receive a permit. The requirements are you must be at least 21 (19 if active military or with honorable/general discharge), a resident of Arizona or a U.S. citizen, and pass several background checks.How do I get my Arizona permit?
In Arizona you apply to the Arizona Department of Public Service for the permit by successfully completing an approved training class, demonstrating competence in handling a firearm, submitting two copies of approved fingerprint cards, a completed application, and the appropriate fee of $60.00. This class fulfills the requirements for obtaining the permit, which you apply for by mail.Can I fail the class?
The only way to fail the class is to intentionally violate one of the gun safety rules. Safety is the primary concept taught in the class and must be followed at all times.What should I bring to the class?
Your driver’s license or state issued ID, your pistol and 20 rounds of ammo, and eye and ear protection. We will supply eye and ear protection if you don’t have them.What if I don’t have a pistol?
You may rent one of our guns including ammo for $10.00. Please let us know you need to do this when you sign up for the class.Is there an extra range fee?
No, the range fee is included in the cost of the class.Can I take the class if I’ve never fired a gun?
Absolutely. The class covers shooting fundamentals and the operation of a handgun. You will leave the class knowing the basics of shooting.What states is my permit valid in?
See the map in the Classes tab. Click on any state in this reciprocity map to see the states where that permit is honored.Where can I find more info pertaining to carrying a handgun in Arizona and other states?
handgunlaw.us is a great resource for checking reciprocity and reviewing the laws in states to which you may be traveling.How long is my permit valid?
Arizona permits are valid for 5 years.How do I renew my permit?
The Concealed Weapon Permit Unit mails a renewal packet approximately 90 days prior to your expiration date. You have from 90 days prior to and 60 days after your expiration date to submit the renewal application and fee. No fingerprint cards or class is required. If not renewed by 60 days after the expiration date, application for a new permit, with class and fingerprint cards, is required.When I get my permit, should I carry a handgun?
Carrying a loaded gun is not meant to bring some excitement into your life. When you carry a concealed handgun, you take on an extra burden and a significant responsibility to yourself, your family and your community. You carry the means to protect life and deal out death. You will be held to a higher standard of conduct.
If you cannot accept this responsibility, adapt your lifestyle, and make a significant commitment to training, you should not carry a handgun. You will be a risk to yourself and those around you.